Update

14.12.2017 16:28
#1
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Update

Greetings,
I just noticed that my Joomshopping is 4.10.0.
Do I have to install each update one-by-one until I am up to date, or can I just install the most current update?


Joomla: 3.8.3
JoomShopping: 4.10.0
 
15.12.2017 08:29
#2
admin
(Support Team)
User admin
Name: Admin
05.08.2010
Posts: 19626
Quote
Aw: Update

1. update step to step (joomshopping install / update)
Component Update 4.11.1 -> 4.11.2
Component Update 4.11.0 -> 4.11.1
.....


Component Update 4.15.0 -> 4.15.1
2. 4.15.1->4.16.3
Update to Joomshopping 4.16.3 (use joomla install)

 
07.03.2018 17:38
#3
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

I followed instructions the best way that I could comprehend them...
And in the end - ruined my entire website. Start fresh with something else.
Thanks anyway.

 
07.03.2018 20:23
#4
admin
(Support Team)
User admin
Name: Admin
05.08.2010
Posts: 19626
Quote
Aw: Update

You missed something.
Error?

 
08.03.2018 03:03
#5
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

The install/update feature gets an error therefore I was reading a post on the forum that suggested to do it manually.

I downloaded and unzipped Component Update 4.11.0 -> 4.11.1 - ftp overwrite.
Then I downloaded and unzipped Component Update 4.11.1 -> 4.11.2 - ftp overwrite and site no longer worked at all.

I'm thankful that my hosting company keeps backups. But it seems I'm stuck with 4.10.0.
Updating from older versions is not user friendly and is a risk to anyone with a lot of products.


Website Url: www.iceboxcollectibles.com
 
08.03.2018 09:50
#6
admin
(Support Team)
User admin
Name: Admin
05.08.2010
Posts: 19626
Quote
Aw: Update

DO NOT do this
I downloaded and unzipped Component Update 4.11.0 -> 4.11.1 - ftp overwrite.

1. Fix update joomshopping
https://www.webdesigner-profi.de/joomla-webdesign/joomla-shop/forum/posts/33/3844.html?lang=en&start=20#24
2. Read
https://www.webdesigner-profi.de/joomla-webdesign/joomla-shop/forum/posts/7/286.html?lang=en

Use shop for update (or joomla after joomhopping 4.16.0)


Last change: 08.03.2018 09:53
 
08.03.2018 14:12
#7
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

Okay, I did step 1.

In step 2, do I have to install each patch listed? (4.12.0 > 4.16.0 > 4.16.1 etc..)

 
08.03.2018 16:18
#8
admin
(Support Team)
User admin
Name: Admin
05.08.2010
Posts: 19626
Quote
Aw: Update

Yes.

 
08.03.2018 17:28
#9
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

Okay.
So I "fixed" the update.php file - uploaded.
Then installed 4.12.0 (via Joomshopping install/update) from https://www.webdesigner-profi.de/joomla-webdesign/joomla-shop/downloads/updates.html

And website is back to being non-functional again and will have to request another backup be loaded from my hosting company.
I don't know if the instructions are being followed wrong, or just explained vaguely.
To the best of what I'm comprehending based on the direction I'm given - the end result is the site halts working. :/

What solution is there at this point?

 
08.03.2018 17:55
#10
admin
(Support Team)
User admin
Name: Admin
05.08.2010
Posts: 19626
Quote
Aw: Update

Error?

 
08.03.2018 18:01
#11
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

There was no error during installation/update.
But the entire site front end:

This page isn’t working
(site) is currently unable to handle this request.
HTTP ERROR 500

Even in the backend, I get the same message when trying to access Joomshopping component.

 
08.03.2018 21:21
#12
admin
(Support Team)
User admin
Name: Admin
05.08.2010
Posts: 19626
Quote
Aw: Update

Joomla / configuration /
error reporting: simple or maximum

 
09.03.2018 01:44
#13
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

It's set to system default in the backend.

 
09.03.2018 07:49
#14
admin
(Support Team)
User admin
Name: Admin
05.08.2010
Posts: 19626
Quote
Aw: Update

Set
simple or maximum

 
10.03.2018 15:33
#15
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

I could set it, but I'm hesitant on trying to update since each time leads to damaging my site.
It's disappointing and I'm running low on options.

 
10.03.2018 16:54
#16
swissa
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: swissandy
10.10.2011
Posts: 180
Quote
Aw: Update

Install Akeeba backup on your site and take a copy of the site.

Install it using a NEW database on a sub domain i.e. development.mysite.com

Then you can test all updates on the development site without it affecting the 'live' site.

https://www.akeebabackup.com/products/akeeba-backup.html

They have lots of documentation.

 
12.03.2018 19:51
#17
hcdbonline
Joomshopping forum user no avatar
Name: Mr.
18.01.2017
Posts: 21
Quote
Aw: Update

I appreciate the suggestion.
I just didn't think updating would be this troublesome. lol
I'd assume I would have just as much "luck" with the "test" site as the live one. It truly is a bummer.
Perhaps I'll cut my losses and keep what we have or start fresh altogether. No matter still disappointing.

 


Copyrights MAXXmarketing GmbH. Alle Rechte vorbehalten
Durch die Nutzung dieser Website stimme ich zu, dass Cookies zur optimalen Gestaltung der Website sowie zur Analyse der Nutzung der Website verwendet werden. Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie hier. OK, einverstanden.